What Muslims believe in

The Arabic word 'Islam' simply means 'submission', and derives from a word meaning 'peace'. In a religious context it means gaining peace through complete submission to the will of God. Muslims believe in One, Unique, Incomparable God; in the Angels created by Him; in the prophets through whom His revelations were brought to mankind; in the Day of Judgment and individual accountability for actions; in God's complete authority over human destiny and in life after death. Muslims believe in a chain of prophets starting with Adam, Noah, Abraham, Ishmael, Isaac, Jacob, Joseph, Job, Moses, Solomon, Jonah, John the Baptist, and Jesus, peace be upon them. They also believe that God's final message to man, a reconfirmation of the eternal message and a summing-up of all that has gone before was revealed to the Prophet Muhammad, peace be upon him, through Angel Gabriel.

Allah, God, Elohim

Allah is simply the Arabic translation for the English word God. This is a universal name for God and does not refer to an exclusively "Islamic" God. Rather, it is used by Arabic speaking people of all faiths, including Christians and Jews. The word Allah appears throughout Arabic translations of the Bible since it is simply the Arabic name for Almighty God. Interestingly, the name Allah is related to the Aramaic and Hebrew names for God, Allaha and Elohim.

Prophet Muhammad (PBUH)

Muslims believe that Muhammad (also spelled as "Mohammad") peace be upon him, is the last and final Messenger of God to be sent to humanity. He was sent to complete the mission of the previous Messengers (including Noah, Abraham, Moses, Jesus and others) of calling people to believing in the ONE God and following the guidance and teachings of God.

Like the prophets before him, Muhammad (peace be upon him) was a human being. He was the son of two humans (Abdullah and Amina). Mohammad (peace be upon him) was born in the city of Makkah in Arabia in the year 570 AD and died in the city of Medina in Arabia in the year 632 AD.

Jesus (peace be upon him)

Muslims respect and venerate Jesus Christ (peace be upon him). They consider him to be one of God`s greatest messengers to humankind. The Quran re-affirms Jesus's miraculous birth and his miraculous abilities and refers to him as the Word Of God Almighty. Muslims believe that Jesus promoted compassion and mercy; he healed the sick and raised the dead by the will of God Almighty. Furthermore, his mother The Virgin Mary is regarded as one of the most pure and exalted women of all creation.

The Quran (Koran)

The Holy Quran is the Last and Final Word of God Almighty and a message to all mankind. It is a collection of 114 chapters that were revealed to Prophet Muhammad by revelation through the Archangel Gabriel over a period of 23 years. Quran is the primary source of every Muslim�s faith and practice.

Note that the Quran was revealed to Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) in Arabic language only. So, any Quranic translation, either in English or any other language, is neither a Quran, nor a version of the Quran, but rather it is only a translation of the meaning of the Quran.

The Five Pillars of Islam

Islam has five primary obligations, or pillars of faith, that each Muslim must fulfill in his or her lifetime. These pillars are the framework of the Muslim life and include: profession of faith, prayer, almsgiving (charity), fasting during the month of Ramadan, and pilgrimage to Makkah for those who are able.

Becoming a Muslim

Islam requires only a simple, sincere declaration of faith to become a Muslim. Simply by saying with conviction �I bear witness that there is no true God (deity) but God Almighty (Allah), and Muhammad (peace be upon him) is the Messenger (Prophet) of God.� The declaration is not to be made lightly, however - devoting oneself to a life guided by Islamic principles is an important part of the faith.

Additional resources:

(ICJC is not affiliated with any of these sites nor is responsible for their current content).